Monday, September 2, 2013

The Cave of Wonders

Happy Labor Day!!

Believe it or not this is my VERY FIRST Labor Day off since I've started working. I always manage to have school off but never work. And today I do!! So what did I do with my off time? Wait and see :).

So last week both class and my second job started. So far I LOVE Webster. The campus is gorgeous and the teachers actually give a crap about the students. It's like a whole new world! My first class the professors suggested that we all have lunch together the next day in order to get to know each other better. Even though I missed the lunch just the thought that since we were a class full of transfer students and we didn't know anyone on campus and the profs wanted to help us feel less lonely was nice. So far here are a few of the prettiest spots I have found.

There is also a sculpture I love but have yet to take a picture of it.

The second job is pretty easy but the people aren't super friendly. I'm used to going into a new job and getting introduced to people and having others introduce themselves to me. So far, out of four days only three people have introduced themselves. It's weird. But the job is pretty mindless and the pay is not tip based so it's a bit more predictable.

Since last week I have worked 63 hours, so after work yesterday I didn't want to do much. Unfortunately big girl life called and I have to finish grocery shopping. ONLY THEN could I sit and watch The Fellowship of the Ring. I geeked out a little.

Riley and Agnes are best friends now. They play all day and bother us all night.





A few days ago Riley got sick and we knew because he wasn't chasing Agnes around. We took him to the vet because he hadn't had anything to drink all day and was vomiting. My poor puppy. He is better now, still a little tired, but back to bothering the cat.

So today, on my ONE and ONLY day off I watched a Labor Day parade. It was just a whole bunch of Union Workers walking and throwing candy and then the striking McDonald's workers. Which I thought was kind of a joke, but they have that right here in the U.S. There were also a lot of trucks and stuff from American companies.




























 So that was the parade. And then we went to check out the Greek Festival, which I heard was awesome. It wasn't. There was nothing but long lines for food and beer. BORING. So we came home and decided to go to the City Museum.

IT WAS AWESOME!!! There was a place where you could crawl through everywhere. There were little holes and nooks and crannies around every turn. It was a cave and a tree house and something in between. Then we went down the 10 STORY SLIDE!! It made me dizzy but it was soo cool!!
There was basically no where off limits and nothing you couldn't touch. Instead of describing how cool the museum is I will just show you pictures. There were some points when I was just having too much fun to snap a shot, so sorry.

























It. Was. Awesome. I can't wait to go back!

I am now going to take a nap in order to fully enjoy a day off.

No comments:

Post a Comment